Scientific Apprentice of the Year

The Nuclear Skills Awards recognise and celebrate exceptional individuals employed in the nuclear sector.  The aim is to have Award Winners who are role models to inspire others to undertake a career in the nuclear industry.

Who should apply for this category?
Scientific covers a wide range of disciplines.  The following list contains examples of apprenticeship frameworks/standards that may help with the selection of the right candidate for this category. The below information acts as a guide and is not an exhaustive list of apprenticeship frameworks/standards for the category:

  •   Scientific Technicians
  •   Science Manufacturing Technician
  •   Laboratory Technicians
  •   Health Physics Monitors (Radiation Protection)
  •   Environmental Science
  •   Process, Standards, Maintenance etc.
  •   Materials Laboratory Technicians
  •   Cyber Security

If you are unsure as to whether your particular Apprenticeship Framework/Standard falls under this category and would like further guidance, please contact who will be able to assist with your queries.

NB. Previous awards finalists cannot reapply for the Awards. Nominees can only be entered into one award category.

It is expected that employers will continue to utilise their current selection criteria to identify their ‘best’ nuclear sector apprentices to apply for the category. These must be apprentices who have completed, or will complete their apprenticeship framework/standard (NVQ or SVQ + National/Technical Certificate and Core/Key Skills) in the fifteen months prior to the 25th October 2019.

Please email completed nominations by 5pm Friday 25th October 2019 for shortlisting by the judging panel.

The panel interview for the Scientific apprentices will held on 2nd December 2019.